Home » General » General » Types of closed areas in Russian Federation
Types of closed areas in Russian Federation [message #450] Wed, 02 July 2014 18:41
repovesi  is currently offline repovesi  Russian Federation
Messages: 109
Registered: February 2009
Location: St.Petersburg
Senior Member
Duo to several Government Decrees there are four types of permanent closed areas in Russian Federation.

1. Closed Cities (42 cities).
2. Territories closed for foreigners (parts of 19 Federal Subjects of Russian Federation: in Leningrad Oblast, in Kaliningrad Oblast, and 17 another).
3. Military towns (approx. 170 towns).
4. Border Security Zone (in 45 Federal Subjects of Russian Federation along state border).

Travelling for pleasure for foreigners in Closed Cities, Territories closed for foreigners, and Military towns is almost impossible.

Travelling for pleasure for foreigners in Border Security Zone is possible, if they have special permit of Border Guard Service of Russia. Such permits are free, making by post, but are time consuming (not less 70 days, may be 100 days). Transit via Border Security Zone from/to border crossing customs point doing freely.

[Updated on: Wed, 02 July 2014 18:46]

Sincerely yours, Mr. Repovesi
Previous Topic:Best route from Nova Lagoda to Vyborg round St. Petersburg
Next Topic:Bike shops in St Petersburg?
Goto Forum:

Current Time: Sun Dec 4 10:29:05 MSK 2022

Total time taken to generate the page: 0.00950 seconds
.:: Contact :: Home ::.

Powered by: FUDforum 2.8.0RC1.
Copyright ©2001-2009 FUDforum Bulletin Board Software